Five iOS 11 features you should know about

At its annual conference in September 2017, Apple introduced 11th version of its operating system for smartphones and tablets (iOS 11). This article introduces some of the most important features of this release.

Five iOS 11 features you should know about

Password share

The scenario: a person asks your Wi-Fi password because they know better than you to use cellular data when Wi-Fi is an option.

Previously, this process was bothering, especially with more complex passwords. However, iOS 11 makes the process simple– best of all, there is no extra setup needed.

Here’s how it works: When a connected iOS 11 device declares another iOS 11 device trying to connect to the same network, a dialogue box will appear asking if you’d like to give the new device permission to access the network. The info is transmitted to the other device and it auto-connects, if the answer is yes.

 

Automatic setup

Imagine you have purchased your new iPhone 8 or 8 Plus. You’re excited but simultaneously, kind of boring work of re-entering all your various passwords, to say nothing of all the little settings tweaks you’ve thoughtfully made throughout the years.

All iOS 11 devices can share these tweaks and settings with another iOS device on the same Wi-Fi network with a bare minimum of chaos.

 

Offload unused apps

There are some phases for iOS 11 to help manage the App-ocalypse by permitting users to offload as opposed for deleting unused apps. When offloading, iOS keeps any permanent data but deletes the app itself. When you decided to reinstall it, you’ll continue from where you left off. There are two ways for doing this.

The first is the nuclear option. Going to General > iPhone Storage and enabling Offload Unused Apps.

And the second, you can manually offload select apps from the same page, scroll through your list of installed apps and tap the app that you’d like to offload. iOS gives you two handy indexes here to help inform your decision: file size and the time you app was last used.

Under the app listing, you’ll have the choice to Offload or Delete the app. Similarly, you’ll once again get an index for App and Document & Data sizes.

When offloaded, the app still remains as an icon on your home-screen, however, with a little cloud icon, showed it’s in the cloud. The app will be immediately reinstalled to your phone by tapping the app icon.
 

Disable In-App Ratings & Reviews

For disabling in-app review prompts, go to Settings > iTunes & App Store to disable In-App Ratings & Reviews.

 

Disable or limit App Store Video Autoplay

Certainly, the App Store’s new redesign is nice, but those auto-playing videos aren’t assisting your mobile data in any aspects.

Good news is that Apple has added an option to turn off autoplay videos in the App Store. Just go to Settings > iTunes & App Store > Video Autoplay that lets you turn them off, or limit video playback to Wi-Fi only.

Keyword: Application, Apple, App Store, iOS, iPhone 8

Popular Posts